top of page

Des Moines Mount Pisgah Stake

Congregations of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints are organized into specific geographic areas called "stakes" (a Biblical reference to what strengthens the tent of Zion; see Isaiah 54:2 KJV).  The Des Moines Mount Pisgah Stake comprises nine congregations, with three located within the Des Moines metropolitan area, and the others serving members in or nearby to  Waukee, Oceola, Centerville, Indianola, Lenox, and Perry. This stake was organized in 2016. 

Mormon History


Approximate Members in Stake




Members serving as full-time missionaries outside of Iowa


Historic Sites on the Mormon Trail 


Languages spoken by members of the stake, either as a first or second language. The second language is usually one learned as a missionary. 

One feature of the National Parks Service's Auto Tour is the Mormon Trail, which runs the full width of southern Iowa before stretching into Nebraska and eventually to Utah. When  Mormons were driven out of Nauvoo, IL, in 1846, they crossed into southern Iowa, where many of their fellow Mormons had settled a few years earlier. But their goal was not to settle in the Territory of Iowa. They merely wanted to cross through on their way to what was then a desert region outside of the United States (present-day Utah). The crossing took several months, but a vanguard company began the trek in the middle of winter. Harsh conditions plagued the wagon train, often leading to long delays or difficult progress on mud-soaked paths. The Des Moines Mount Pisgah stake is named for one of the historic sites along the Trail that features a monument and cemetery. Other important sites include Garden Grove and the Seven Mile Creek Camp. In more than one place along the Trail, today's travelers can still find wagon ruts created by the passing pioneers. 

  • Facebook Social Icon
bottom of page